Pro Bono Award

Each year, the Kane County Bar Foundation honors a member of the Kane County Bar Association who has selflessly donated countless, uncompensated hours to serving those in need in the community.  Nominations are made by peers and court personnel, and winners are those who have worked tirelessly to expand access to justice for the poor and less fortunate.

Criteria for Selection

  • Candidate must be a Kane County Bar Association member in good standing;
  • The nominee must be an attorney who performs Pro Bono Services above and beyond the call of duty. 

Past Pro Bono Award Honorees

2016 - Jane Craddock Ryan
2015 - Mark D. Brent
2014 - Robert Gilmartin
2013 - Sandra T. Parga
2012 - Richard Rosenthal and Warren Sylvester
2011 - James Tabor
2010 - Elizabeth Berrones
2009 - William J. Parkhurst
2008 - Philip J. Lengle
2007 - Judith R. Berndt
2006 - Lisa M. Nyuli
2005 - Brad M. Swearingen
2004 - Patrick M. Kinnally
2003 - Michael C. Doyen
2002 - James D. Skaar
2001 - Rory T. Weiler
2000 - J. Brick VanDerSnick
1999 - Melody Brasel Davoust
1998 - Richard H. Balog

Please click on this link for this year's award application form:  PRO BONO

For more information, please contact Jan Wade, Executive Director, at (630) 762-1915 or

Back to Bar Foundation

  • OVC. Online Marketing for Lawyers