>> Back to News Listing

Kane County Bar Association Installs New President

Kane County Bar Association Installs New President 

Lawrence W. Lobb was sworn in as the Kane County Bar Association President in June at the Kane County Bar Association’s Annual Dinner. Sixteenth Judicial Circuit Judge Christine Downs presided over the ceremony and issued the oath of office. Larry takes over the helm of the State’s oldest bar association, begun in 1858, and will serve as the President until next year’s Annual Dinner. The KCBA is a leader and an innovator among bar associations in the State, being the first Bar Association to provide free continuing legal education (CLE) for all of its members and conducting one of the finest and most comprehensive CLE programs in the State.

Larry is a graduate, cum laude, from Wayne State University, from the University of Toledo Law School with a law degree and from the New York Institute of Technology with an MBA. Larry also interned for separate federal district court judges.

Larry began his legal career working with the real estate acquisition department of GM but  ventured out on his own into the private practice of law. He got involved in the KCBA, serving on many committees, before running for Secretary/Treasurer and beginning the officer track. For his efforts and good work, Larry was given the Outstanding New Lawyer Award in 2011, and he continues to excel.

Larry practices with the firm of Drendel and Jansons, which is steeped in bar association leadership history.  Gib Drendel, founder, was the KCBA President in 1976/1977 and with his son Kevin (KCBA President 2003/2004) is one of two father/son attorney duos having served the association as President.  Other KCBA Presidents from this firm include Susan Tatnall (1989/1990) and next year, Carolyn Jansons (currently serving as Vice-President) will assume that office.  Other attorneys in the firm have served the KCBA as committee chairs over the years.  This year Roman Seckel will continue as chair of the Legal Ethics Committee and Edward Boula will serve as chair of the Local Government Committee.

Serving as Secretary Treasurer for 2016/2017 is Alice Sackett (Turner & Sackett, LLC, Sycamore and Geneva).  2015/2016 President Gregory Maksimuk (Schiller DuCanto and Fleck, Wheaton) will serve as Immediate Past President.  Returning members of the Board of Managers include Elizabeth Berrones (Gil Law Group, Aurora), Kathleen Doyen (Doyen Law Group, Elgin), and Lindsay Hatzis (Kane County State’s Attorney’s Office, Geneva).  Joshua Rosenzweig (Ottosen Britz Kelly Cooper Gilbert & DiNolfo, Ltd., Naperville and Elburn) will serve again as General Counsel.  Newly elected members of the Board of Managers are Judy Kullenberg (Kane County Public Defender’s Office, St. Charles) and Lidia Serrano (Serrano, Low & Hanson, Geneva).  

  • OVC. Online Marketing for Lawyers